top of page
  • Writer's pictureJennaMarie

Mending our students broken hearts..

Updated: Jan 7, 2019

Letting go is never easy. Letting go of the past that continuously haunts your thoughts on a daily basis and never allows you to forget is nearly impossible.


As a Counselor, do you ever just sit there and look at your students telling you a heart wrenching story knowing that you have little to no control or no possible way to help, so then you just sit there and wonder "WHY"? Why did this have to happen to you? Why did this have to happen at all?


It's been a tough October for me as I've been hearing some of the saddest stories from my students.. How can people simply hurt others and scar them so deeply!?


How does one simply let go and move on with life after being deeply hurt? How is one simply expected to be okay and act like they're alright? And how can kids keep it so together and smile all day knowing they're breaking inside?


I encourage all of my students to talk. Feeling unsafe, insecure, scared, sad, lost, etc... Talk! Speak up! What are you feeling? Let me help..


I wonder each day what's my purpose as a School Counselor? And although each day is different and some are better than others, my go to response is always "I need to make sure kids out here know that there's a trusting adult ready to listen and ready to hold on to their problems while we mend that broken heart". It may take minutes, hours, days, weeks, months or years but your heart doesn't have to stay broken. You are not alone!


-Jenna

0 comments
bottom of page